Pinicon Hotel

Manufacturer: Wallace China
User: Hotel Pinicon
Date: Circa 1952
Notes: According to the Oelwein Daily Register, the Hotel Pinicon, “a modern 40-room hotel entirely locally owned,” was to open in Independence, Iowa, on March 18, 1952, when “the 460 stockholders in the Independence Community Hotel Co. officially go into the hotel business when the Pinicon opens its doors to tourists and customers for the first time.”

“Opening of the new hotel here - a unique experiment in community cooperation - marks a successful conclusion in seven years of planning and working for a new hotel. The Hotel Pinicon will replace the old Gedney hotel, a landmark in northeast Iowa since 1892, which burned to the ground on March 3, 1945."

The Wallace backstamp would indicate a manufacturing date of the 1940s, according to “Restaurant China, Vol. 1,” but it could be explained that the creamer was made on new, old stock or because the hotel was planned for seven years, it is possible that the china was actually ordered in the late 1940s.

The creamer, on Wallace’s tan-bodied Desert Ware, is topmarked in black with the name: hotel (lowercase) over Pinicon (script font) and below that the bust of what looks to be an American Indian woman facing to her right, with braids and a single feather coming up behind her head and behind the n in Pinicon.








ID and photos contributed by CarolCardona

The IDwiki was Originally built by VaultWiki
A special thanks to the team at vaultwiki.org